PDA

View Full Version : Need expert help. Hell, I'll take any help.

Glib1
May 6th, 2012, 11:35 PM
So, I'm pretty new to the design game. This project is one where I haven't gotten the result I was imagining. For the life of me, I can't seem to get "depth" in the background. I really wanted the main logo to fly off the surface. Any advice, tips, tricks, magical incantations, etc. would be much appreciated.:sigh:

nofx1994
May 7th, 2012, 12:43 AM
well for a beginner it is a very nicely done wall paper but in photoshop there is tons of ways to achieve depth but here is a quick example i did (note nothing fancy now lol) but what i did was did a shape and cut around your wording and messed around with some layer styles to get it to the illusion of a depth but here is the image and the psd file of what i did and good luck one more thing i would like to add when doing text you should consider doing the text lighter than the background it blends in making it harder to read and one great note i tell to anyone learning photoshop youtube is your best friend for finding out how to do something inside photoshop well good luck and have fun

8pecxstudios
May 7th, 2012, 12:53 AM
Wow Looks Great Bud Nice Work Glib1 (http://virtualcustoms.net/member.php/220790-Glib1)

Excellent Nofx Very Helpful Thanks :happy:

Glib1
May 7th, 2012, 04:49 PM
Thanks, sensei! I see instantly what you mean with the lightening of the text, though I think I will use the converse and darken the background. :cunning: But really, what you did there by making a sort of dark nebulous area within the spark effect is what gave it a lot of depth. Thanks a bunch!

Glib1
May 7th, 2012, 04:50 PM
Thanks!

Glib1
May 7th, 2012, 04:56 PM
Taking NOFX's advice I gave text more contrast against the background. Hell, I'm almost happy with it :cheeky:55032

Glib1
May 7th, 2012, 07:00 PM
This one took forever but I think I am finally happy with it (for about forty minutes, I am sure).55038

gor17981
May 7th, 2012, 07:18 PM