PDA

View Full Version : creating your own theme

Master101Chief
October 10th, 2012, 05:03 PM
since I am a decent gfx artist, I think, I will maybe give making a theme a try
But before I trow myself into it head forward there are a few things I would like to know.
First of all how steep is the learning curve?
Then what is a good place to start of, with that I mean clear tutorial what kind of programs do you need and others.
and last do you need any skill in coding stuff if you need any.

Just to be clear I am not saying I am certainly going to make a theme, what I am going to do is take a look at it try a bit around and then I will decide if I will start making complete theme.

thanks in advance.

Big V
October 10th, 2012, 06:42 PM
Well bud I'm not a theme builder but here is my opinion.... the 3 thing you will need is a graphics program like photoshop or gimp, windows style builder app, and a resourcer program like restorator or reshack
As far as coding I think pretty basic, the biggest thing will be setting margins and such for the images.
I would start off first by grabing mr grims class map for wsb http://virtualcustoms.net/showthread.php/29940-Updated-Class-Map-for-WSB-1-5
This will update wsb with all the correct names and location

Mr GRiM
October 10th, 2012, 07:32 PM
The learning curve will depend on the person but as you are already proficient with your gfx skills I would expect you to progress very fast, if you look at some of the other members like Skull's, Toady and some of the other first timers then you can see that some of their first themes were amazing compared to where I started at, I started off with no help at all and learnt it all as I went along, I had no real knowledge of coding, gfx skills or anything really to do with making themes.