PDA

View Full Version : How do I install custom themes on Ubuntu 16.04?

Nimbi
March 12th, 2017, 03:25 AM
Hello,

I was wondering if someone could give me instructions on installing custom themes on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. Also, if someone with proper permissions is up to the task, could someone please start porting the themes from here on VC to Ubuntu 16.04 LTS? [I'm not saying all at once, but maybe start porting some of the popular themes over for now].

Shemhamforash
March 12th, 2017, 03:48 AM
All you need it do is copy a theme, open file manager as root in /usr/share/themes and paste the theme. Have you tried the Arc themes, I have been using a black version of it I modified myself for the last several months, it is not that difficult to edit Linux themes.

Nimbi
March 12th, 2017, 04:38 AM
All you need it do is copy a theme, open file manager as root in /usr/share/themes and paste the theme. Have you tried the Arc themes, I have been using a black version of it I modified myself for the last several months, it is not that difficult to edit Linux themes.

How do i open the /usr/share/themes folder as root?

Shemhamforash
March 12th, 2017, 04:40 AM
How do i open the /usr/share/themes folder as root?

$ sudo nautilus /usr/share/themes

Nimbi
March 12th, 2017, 04:50 AM
$ sudo nautilus /usr/share/themes

lol, just found a way to do it via right click menu, lol....

Can you possibly port the AMD Revolution Emerald theme to Ubuntu 16.04 LTS? I don't know how to make themes work with linux lol. Also, i seem to have more themes in there than what show up in the appearance area, the only ones that show up in there have a index.theme file and a unity folder as well, the rest don't have either.

Nimbi
March 12th, 2017, 07:08 AM
Found something that works for now. Arc themes were for an older version of Ubuntu but a program I found allows them to be loaded properly. Basically got em working with the Gnome Tweak Tool, lol.

Shemhamforash
March 12th, 2017, 04:40 PM